Kobe Bryant Open Letter

by Karl Nelson II, Intern Media

I write to you guys with a heavy heart over the untimely and tragic passing of NBA Icon Kobe Bean Bryant, his daughter Gianna, and the other seven passengers who died in that helicopter crash Sunday morning in Calabasas.

Before I even write about what Kobe has meant to me over the years as a prolific basketball player, it’s important that I mention this. The nine individuals who died yesterday were people first, not just defined by their careers or accolades. Each of them had family, friends and acquaintances who love them dearly, and that’s what hurts just as much.

If you have a heart, whether or not you knew these people on a personal level, the news we received yesterday crushed us all.

Anyone who knows me well, one thing has always been clear. When it comes to Kobe and the Los Angeles Lakers, I’m a hugely dedicated fan. I was reminded of that as I received phone calls and text messages from loved ones like my little brother, my father, my uncles, my cousins, my close friends, and others in the aftermath of this tragedy. While I never met Kobe or saw him play basketball in person, I feel like I knew him well. Growing up, Kobe was a superhero to me.

New York Knicks Forward Marcus Morris said it best. “Superman is not supposed to die. To us he was Superman.”

That’s exactly how I feel today as I, like many others around the world, grieve Kobe’s untimely passing.

I appreciate something that was said on NBA TV by Kobe’s former Lakers teammate Brian Shaw in reaction to the tragic news. “For those Kobe fans that are out there, that are feeling like I feel right now, just try and think of all the joy that he brought you.”

In my lifetime, Kobe has surely brought a smile to my face and joy to my heart many times over. Whether it was his historic 81-point performance against the Toronto Raptors (January 22, 2006), his 62-point game against the Dallas Mavericks where he only played three quarters of basketball (December 20, 2005), his game winner in OT against the Phoenix Suns (2006 NBA Playoffs), his 60-point performance in the FINAL game of his career (April 13, 2016), or the nationally televised speech he gave in front of his wife and daughters after both of his jerseys (#8 & #24) were retired and sent into the rafters at Staples Center back in 2017…those are all memories that I will hold onto forever.

Kobe, his sweetheart of a daughter Gianna, John Altobelli, Keri Altobelli, Alyssa Altobelli, Sarah Chester, Payton Chester, and Pilot Ara Zobayan…all lives gone too soon. #RIP | KMN

KB

Leave a comment